Another November Post

I can’t say that I have gotten a lot of quilting done since the last post, but there are a couple of things that I couldn’t show till now that I what to share.

This Xmas tree is a panel by Stonehenge. I quilted it for my sister and made buttonholes for little electric lights to go through. It looks really nice in person, but the lights don’t show up well on camera.

Xmas Tree

Xmas Tree

This is the first time I tried quilting a big spiral and I think it looks really nicely. I got the idea from this blog post:

http://craftingdotdotdot.blogspot.com/2014/04/quilting-spiral-what-worked-for-me.html

I like this spiral technique so much that I know I will use it a lot in the future.  In fact, I used it on another quilt right away. This is my entry for the Sunstitchers’ 2015 challenge which was to make any kind of quilt with five-inch squares.  I ran across the pattern, called Twinkle Star,  for this carpenter’s star that was made from a charm pack in a magazine and decided it would be just right, particularly since I had a charm pack handy. This is my finished quilt:

Challenge Quilt

Challenge Quilt

It is about 39 inches square and looks a lot more complicated than it actually was to piece and quilt which is my favorite kind of quilt to make.  I had a few squares leftover and used them in the saw-tooth border. I really like the way the circular quilting contrasts with all the sharp points.

Yesterday was the Sunstitchers meeting when the entries were to be revealed, and there were quite a few beautiful and clever quilts to see. I was pleasantly surprised that mine won a prize and will enjoy spending my Joann’s gift certificate.

Here is another idea I had to use five in squares – a biscuit quilt. Sometimes these are called puff quilts too. It is an old technique but I had never tried it, so I got out another pack of 5 inch squares and gave it a try. I am sure you could search up either name and get instructions.

 puff quilts

Biscuit quiltlets

These are as finished as they will get — they fit perfectly in the baskets I have sitting around for the cats to nap in.  I don’t know if I would ever make a larger quilt with this technique, but it would definitely be a cozy one.

Well that is all for now. I hope you have a safe and happy Thanksgiving holiday.

Happy Day

Linda

2 thoughts on “Another November Post

  1. Debbie Minton says:

    I believe you on a roll Linda! Very pretty. Your Christmas tree was done considerably nicer thn mine.
    Thanks for sharing their all very pretty.
    Debbie Minton

Leave a Reply

