Back in the Saddle Again

Isn’t it so very appropriate that my first day of sewing in my new little sewing room in my new little house also happens to be National Quilting Day!  I have been itching to work on a Quilt of Valor so I could use some of the wonderful fabrics my sister sent me a while back, and I found just the pattern in the Sept/Oct 2014 issue of Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting.  It is called ‘Anchors Aweigh,’ which I think is extra perfect as my dad was in the Navy in WWII.

Here is my temporary setup:

??????????

??????????

I cut enough pieces to make a couple blocks just to see if I would like it enough to make a whole quilts worth. Sometimes the patterns confuse me and I get frustrated.

??????????

By the end of my first sewing session, I have four blocks.

??????????

They are not so difficult to assemble. I was a little worried since sometimes I have trouble with bias edges and this quilt has a few, but I was careful, took my time and enjoyed the process.  This is going to be such a cute quilt. I have fourteen more blocks to make before I have to decide on the sashing and cornerstones.

It feels great to be sewing again.

And here are all the giant hexie blocks I mentioned in the last post:

??????????

The two big ones measure about 26″ across and the smaller ones are almost 16″.  They are really gigantic!  I tried playing with arranging them a little, but have no idea what they want to end up looking like.

??????????

??????????

Any suggestions would be greatly welcomed.

Happy National Quilting Day!

One thought on “Back in the Saddle Again

  1. DebbieMinton says:

    Well of course you know I never have anything to say, but………………..just this one, I think you should applique the hexies on a whole cloth/ Then come out in different areas and ghost quilt the hexies. Also to go with the quilting rule of straight lins on circles I would throw in parallel lines and Diagonal. Tee Hee! I love that QOV, looks like something for a Naval soldier. Don’t see a lot for them. Thank you for sharing it was fun. I Love that room, I tried to fix a blog on word press, uggh! I’ll get Josie to help when she’s by here. Till then…………

Leave a Reply

