Home Sweet Home

Sorry for the long time between posts (again). We moved into the new house on February 18th and have been unpacking for what seems like a million years. I don’t know where the time has gone. Sometimes It seems like we have only been here a few days, but I have no regular routine and lose track of what day it is.

It seemed logical to get the kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms in order first, and now I am working on the sewing room.

Here is Raymond putting shelves together a few days ago.  What a patient soul he is.

??????????

This is a day later, with some fabric on the shelves, and the cutting table put together.

??????????

Here is the other side of the room with my big desk.

??????????

During the time I was ‘homeless’, I worked on these hexies. Thetemplates are 3″ on a side and  each hexie measures around 6″ point to point. I used some old floral fabric, although I am planning on scattering them randomly over a background fabric so the finished quilt (or quilts) have a modern look. I had enough of the same fabric to make a couple of the larger circles and I thought they might look interesting in different sizes.  I have one more big circle to finish.  Any suggestions on the background fabric? Should i go with a solid or another floral? Perhaps a pastel stripe?

??????????

Zeena and Max are supervising. How could we get anything done without them!

??????????

Today, I set up the ironing board and turned on the sewing machine for the first time. Maybe tomorrow I will actually stitch something.

??????????

I am planning on adding more shelves. Some of our ‘stuff’ had to go in storage in Chattanooga because it wouldn’t all fit in the truck we drove down her. So sometime soon we will have to go get it.  I have a lot more books and fabric waiting patiently. I hope it will all fit.

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Kara Jamison says:

    What a nice airy room with good light ~ ~ and I’m sure there’s always room for more fabric!! I can’t wait to see what your first creative efforts produce from this new platform!!

  2. DebbieMinton says:

    Oh Linda, That was so cool! I blew up the pictures and looked at them but the one for design help I could not get it to enlarge. I’d like a shot at ideas on that if you get a chance see why that pic would not expand. Your sewing room got me all excited. It is so nesty! If I could look at mine like it was yours I might could get some ideas. Woo Hoo! I love it!

Leave a Reply

