What I did on My Summer Vacation

I spent a couple weeks over the end of June and the beginning of July visiting my sister, Laura. We had a great time.  Laura lives in Pearisburg VA near the foot of a mountain called Angel’s Rest.  Her house is about six hours from my home in Chattanooga.   I love visiting her.   We always have fun when we are together. Virginia is a beautiful state and the people are as friendly as Chattanoogans. I went over for a week and stayed two!  We try to fit in as many activities as possible when I visit.   We had a great time. Got to shop at half a dozen wonderful quilt shops, shared some delcious meals, spent a lot of time sewing, and re-designed my sister’s sewing room.

Here is her first one fabric quilt in progress on her new design wall. This technique is detailed in Wonderful 1-fabric Quilts by Kay Nichols. It is a fast and easy method and a great way to use border print fabrics. The design wall is just like mine, made from PVC pipe and a flannel sheet.

??????????

This is a close up of the beautiful fabric she started with.

??????????

And this is the new cutting table we put together with ClosetMaid cubicles and plywood.

??????????

Here is her new pegboard — a great way to organize all those rulers.

??????????

This little quilt was part of a challenge for the Pulaski  county fair. I didn’t get it finished in time to compete, but it was fun to make.

DSCN0745

This is a cuddle quilt Laura made. I showed her how to mitre corners, and then I quilted it for her.  It had minkee on the back which was a little tricky, but we managed to tame it with some quilt basting spray.

??????????

Here we are at a Cracker Barrel on my last day of vacation. We had fun wearing matching shirts. When we were younger people often asked if we were twins even though we are four years apart.  I love my sister.

2014-07-04 me & my sister cropped

Again, sorry for the delay in posting on this blog.  Hopefully I will be getting caught up soon.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I did on My Summer Vacation

  1. vmsgt81@comcast.net says:

    Loved it Linda! Thanks for sharing/ I’m going to create a blog too. Any advice on the subject is welcomed!

    Hugs

    deb

Leave a Reply

