What I Did in December

 

2013 is coming to an end in a few days.  I must say I am going to miss it.  I had so much fun with friends and family this year, so many blessing came my way.  At the same time, I am looking forward to 2014 – doesn’t it feel like it may just be the best year yet?   Here is the final round-up for December.  Thanks for reading my blog. I hope 2014 is your best year yet too! See you next year.

Pizza Box Blocks

Here are the pizza box blocks I mad this month.  The one on the left is the practice one from my fabric and the one on the right is Gayle T’s.  flying geese units were required this time, and there are eight in each block, although you have to look a little to find them.   This was a fun block that I got out of one of the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks issues.

??????????

In January we all show our final blocks and the pizza boxes go back to their original owner.  I am excited to see all the blocks in my pizza box, but at the same time I don’t want this swap to end.

Artist Trading Card Swap

A new feature here is the group of ATCs that I got from a swap I joined.  ATC is short for artist’s trading card, which is a little 3.5″ x 2.5″ work of art that can be made from any combination of fabric, paper, paint, stamping, etc.   Veronica has been hosting a monthly swap for a few years now (you can find out more by clicking on her blog which is listed on the side).  The theme was black or white and I couldn’t decide so I went with shades of gray instead, just like I do in real life (just a few shades though — I don’t think I could handle 50).  Mine is the one in the middle. I just love every one and am looking forward to taking part in a lot of these swaps.

??????????

Socks

Knitting is an interesting activity. I find it a peaceful  and love that I can relax for a while with my yarn and needles now and then.  Socks and gloves seem to be just the right size project for me — one day I may try another sweater, but for now I am enjoying socks. I still can’t believe I finally learned how to use double pointed needles. And it is so neat to have something useful once I am finished!

Here are the short socks I made with the rainbow yarn.  They are nice and warm.  This heavier yarn knits up a lot faster than skinny sock yarn — that’s for sure!

??????????

??????????

There was a lot of yarn left after the socks so I made a couple of pairs of fingerless gloves.  I love this rainbow yarn.

Cotton Socks

I finished another pair of socks, this time with cotton yarn.  I had to use smaller needles to get them to the same size as the other socks, and I haven’t worn them yet so I can’t say if I like them or not.  The cotton is quite soft and if they can keep their shape, I think they will be very nice.  I got the yarn when Sew Bee It closed and thought it was sock yarn.  I usually make dish cloths out of cotton yarn, but this seemed too nice for dish cloths. I hope they work since I have another skein of the same yarn.

??????????

Hexies

I finished my two-color spiral hexie project. It is only about a foot across and fits perfectly on that little table.  using just two colors sure is dramatic.

??????????

BQ2

Here is the beginning of a new quilt. The pattern is BQ2 from Maple Island Quilts. I have had the pattern for a while and decided it will be just right for this busy print (those bright blue strips are actually dark teal).  It will be queen sized and is made up of 30 of these 18″ blocks.  Amazingly, it only took a couple of days to sew all 30 blocks together.  Now I am pondering the possibility of trying one of the quilt-as-you-go techniques to quilt it.

??????????

Quilts of Valor

I made it to a Quilts of Valor meeting at Fran’s house in December and stitched on various projects that she has in progress. Then I brought home a stack of blocks and fabric to use to finish the quilt top. Someone else will do the quilting.  It was fun to put together. And I had enough fabric left for the presentation case too.  Here they both are.

??????????

??????????

One thought on “What I Did in December

Leave a Reply

