Little Things

Making  a big departure from knitting socks, I tried my hand at making some fingerless gloves. I found the pattern on Lion Brand Yarn’s website that uses their yarn called “Amazing.” I love how so many colors shade into one another in such a random way. I think it was the yarn that got me interested in this project.  Once I got started it only took a couple evenings sitting in front of the TV  to make each glove, and with the leftover yarn I made a small garter stitch scarf to complete the set.  This pattern was really easy. I like these a lot and will probably make more, perhaps as gifts.

2013-05-24 fingerless gloves and scarf

>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<

When I was getting ready for the Frogpond Retreat last spring, I decided it would be fun to have a little signature quilt from all the attendees as a memento from the occasion.  So I hurried and made a little twister quilt with muslin, a  pink/orange fabric and a bright pink fossil fern. You may notice that one of the twisters is a little short. That’s because I cut it wrong, but since I didn’t have enough fabric to do it over, I just left it as it is.

All of my retreaters signed the muslin sections and I brought it home. One of my roommates at the retreat, Pam, had been working on a little quilt that was in exactly the same colors as my signature quilt. It was quite a nice coincidence  and a few days after we got home, Pam and I met and exchanged some of the fabrics we had used. I decided her Kona solids would make a perfect border for my quilt.

I thought about it a while and ended up piecing these Seminole borders, which is something I always wanted to try anyway. Then after some more thought I decided on the little paper pieced corners. I think they look pretty good for a first try. That striped binding that I dug out of my stash  is just laying under the top as I haven’t quilted it yet. It has orange and pink and red stripes that match quite nicely. I happen to love using striped fabric in bindings so this is perfect.  Maybe this weekend I will get it quilted.

2013-05-26 seminole border binding test

That’s all for now. Happy Day!

2 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Hey there lady…like the fingerless gloves..maybe it is something I can learn, well maybe not??? and I really like the signature quilt I think you made the perfect border and the striped binding looks great with it….see ya’ tuesday!

  2. Sandi says:

    I loved your blog post today!!! I am so glad you and Pam connected and you made another friendship from the Frogpond Retreat!

Leave a Reply

