A Few More Pictures

Well, almost another month has passed. Doesn’t time fly?

Here are some pictures of what I have been working on:

First, I finished my Chubby Charmer bag. It is from a pattern by Penny Sturges who also designed the Bow Tucks purse that everyone is making lately.  We had a workshop on making this bag a couple of months ago at Chattanooga Quilt Guild. I like the bag because it is so big you can put a big quilt or two in it. It is designed to be made with charm blocks, but I decided to cut up some of my crumb blocks and alternate them with black fabric.  The lining is a peach and orange fabric from my stash. This bag was very easy to put together, although when I make another one, I will use a lighter weight batting in the handles because it was so thick that I broke a couple of needles sewing through all the thicknesses.  Except for that, I love it.

2013-04-05 one chubby charmers

Second is the Pizza Box block I made this month from Dawn’s fabrics. She had asked for a little applique, so I chose this block from “Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.”  The clue for this month was half-sqare triangle, so there had to be at least one clearly visible half-square triangle.

2013-04-09 dawns pizza box block

As mentioned previously, I am making a practice block out of fabric from my Pizza Box, and here is the one for March.

2013-04-12 my april pizza box block

Third, my sister made a quilt for the grandbaby of a co-worker and I offered to quilt it for her. I have had it for months, but finally got it done. She did a great job on the quilt. It is made with Minkee and chenille and flannel — I have never worked with such a combination, but may have to now that I see how pretty it comes out.  I quilted it with the walking foot and just did some wavy lines going from top to bottom to avoid pleats and puckers in the seams from the wiggly fabrics. It looks pretty good and will be sturdy enough.

2013-04-12 lauras baby quilt

Fourth is the block of the month for The Modern Guild. If you make and turn in a block, you get put in a drawing to win all the blocks made for that month. I really liked the look of this Celtic chain block and made one hoping to win a bunch of them. Although I didn’t win, I found that the block was really easy to assemble and have added it to my list of quilts to make one of these days.

2013-04-12 modern guild keltic maze block

Next month’s block is called granny square and I kind of like that one too.

Fifth and final for this entry are a couple pillowcases I made.  I was lucky to be invited to a quilting retreat that took place last week and wanted some cute cases for my travel pillows (more about the retreat will follow in the next post, but you can search up grandoakretreat.com to see the beautiful place we stayed). I used a crazy patched cheater fabric and a couple of coordinating fabrics.  That little pillow is filled with buckwheat hulls and I usually sleep with that covering whichever ear is up. It blocks out most of the noises and I can sleep better.

2013-04-14 travel pillows

One thought on “A Few More Pictures

  1. Sandi says:

    I love the Pizza Box projects. Every one I have seen is so pretty! Sweet pillowcases too. We sure had fun at the Retreat, didn’t we?

Leave a Reply

