Remember Me

This month’s UFO is the applique block-of-the-month quilt that Sharon G. and I were working on last year. I can’t believe that I got all my blocks done mostly in time, and now I am even more amazed that I got it quilted and finished. This UFO challenge with Chattanooga Quilt Guild is a very good thing! The meeting is tomorrow, and of course I just finished the quilt today. Last Minute Linda, that’s me.

I may have mentioned this in an earlier post, but the fabrics in the applique and the border are from a collection of reproduction prints from the Netherlands that my friend Willa F. gave me a while back. I think they are perfect for this.

Anyway, Here is a picture of it and a close up of the quilting. Best I could manage with my old camera, but you can get the idea of it. It is about 42″ square. The pattern is from Little Quilts in Marietta, Georgia, and I believe it is suppose to be a baby quilt. I plan to hang it on the wall over the bed in the guest room once it makes the show-and-tell rounds.

The zig zaggy edges are made of those one-seam flying goose blocks. I like them because they are quick, accurate and add some texture. They are not part of the original pattern, but  I was happy that they happened to fit.

Inside the red square, I outlined all the pieces with invisible thread and then switched to white thread and filled in the background with a meandering stitch. I used washable crayola markers to draw the diagonal grid lines in the border and in the very edge where the flying geese are, I stitched a couple arcs in each dark section to keep the edge from getting wavy. The white points of the flying geese are unquilted to keep the dimension. I am very happy with this quilt. I wonder which one of my UFO’s will be next?

2 thoughts on “Remember Me

Leave a Reply

