January Leftovers

I sure have been neglecting this blog lately. Sorry.  Here are a few things from January:

This is a journal I covered.  i happen to see this fabric in one of my bags of fabric and remembered how much I liked it so decided to put it on a journal. It is woven fabric, not printed. You don’t see that very often these days.  I added a strip of delicate lace to remind me which side was front. I don’t know how many times I have opened a journal and got it upside because I could not distinguish the front from the back.

This is the view of it opened. What pretty flowers.

Here are Max and Zeena enjoying their new play tower.  The outside light was so bright it made the inside look dark, but it wasn’t really that dark. In the mornings, they like to lay in the sun here. Later in the day, they enjoy the elevated view outside where they can watch the birds play in the birdbath.

This is the first block of the block-of-the-month that I am doing at Sew Bee It quilt shop. This year we are taking a departure from the Jan Patek Girl Gang blocks-of-the-month and making Birds of a Feather by Barb Adams and Alma Allen of Blackbird Designs. So far, it is fun.

This is block #seven of “pushing Up Spring” from Apple Blossom Quilts, a block-of the-month from 2009 that I have been working on for quite a while.  There are 16 blocks all together, so I am nearly half way there. Block #8 is prepped and glued down and I have started stitching on it. I love the bright colors of these blocks. Here is a picture of the whole quilt:

Now, I think we are up to date for January. I have a picture or two for February, but will wait a day or so to put them up.

3 thoughts on “January Leftovers

  1. Sharon says:

    You have accomplished allot in the month of January..Love the journal and the blocks but then you know that already….I forgot to post my BoF . Tell the kitties I said Hello…..

  2. Your Birds of a Feather block is really pretty and I have already told you how much I like your flower sampler. Is the kitty perch in your studio? Isn’t it fun to watch them watch the birds? My kitty “cheeps” at the birds. Do yours do that to? That fabric on your journal is absolutely gorgeous. You are right, we don’t find woven fabric much anymore. Love your post!

  3. I love today’s post! Those floral sampler blocks are my favorites. I think the Birds of a Feather project is going to be the best yet! I agree with you that you don’t find woven fabric much anymore and that piece for your journal cover is really nice. Is the kitty perch in your studio? My kitty likes to watch the bird and she “cheeps” at the birds all the time.

Leave a Reply

