Where did November go?

I can’t believe it has been more than a months since my last post.

I have been working on things, but mostly things I can’t show here yet (you know, because of the upcoming holiday).  One thing I can show you is the result of a wonderful workshop we had at Crazy Quilter’s guild on the mariners compass.  I have dabbled with paper piecing before, and this time I really ‘got it.’ Our instructor was Cheryl Smith, and she explained and demonstrated the technique so well that I managed to make a sample section in the workshop. Then I went home and over the next couple days I pieced my first compass.  I used Christmassy fabrics for this one, and am very happy with the result. Here is the picture:

It is about 26″ square and will be a nice little wall hanging or table topper. I doubt if I will have it quilted in time for this Christmas, but maybe by 12/2012.

I also worked on one of the brown bag round robin quilts, but can’t show you that, either. Oh, and I made a big tote bag for my friend Lynn and gave it to her when we were up north for Thanksgiving, but somehow I never got a picture of it.

Our artificial tree came out of the box yesterday and perhaps today we will get the lights and ornaments on it.  I have a new ornament this year — a “see rock city” birdhouse — that I can’t wait to hang on it.  If I don’t post again this year, have a wonderful Christmas.

2 thoughts on “Where did November go?

  1. Sandi says:

    Linda, I do love this little piece. I cannot wait to see what you will do with it. I would love to have a copy of the pattern, please.

  2. Sharon says:

    Linda this turned out wonderful and you have inspired me to finish mine….I hope it turns out half as well as yours had…you go girl!!! Happy Holidays to you and R.

Leave a Reply

