So far in August

Block Caddy

I made myself a little roll up caddy to take applique blocks to groups when I want to work on them. This way, they won’t get wrinkled or big fold lines. Since I use a freezer paper method of applique, folding up a block can cause wrinkles that make it harder to manipulate the block while stitching on it.  The first picture shows it all rolled up.

This picture shows it unrolled with the outside showing, and the next one shows the inside. I put a piece of flannel on the inside. I used an orphan block from a Celtic applique class I took a while back and added a couple borders.

This one shows how it looks partly rolled up. I made a fabric tube kind of like a hanging sleeve on the one end and put an cardboard tube from a roll of shelf paper in it to stabilize the caddy. This is a smaller block, but I made the caddy big enough to hold my ‘pushing up spring’ blocks too.

 

Remember Me

I got the inner red border and a wider white border on the remember me blocks. Now I am working out the final border which I think I can make with flying geese units. Since I don’t have enough of any of the fabrics in the blocks to make a solid border, I am going to use little bits of all the fabrics used in the blocks and make it a little scrappy, but I think it will turn out looking pretty good. I have been experimenting with those one seam flying geese that I saw in the premier issue of Quilt Life magazine, and hope I can get them to come out right mathematically.

 

One Fabric / Green stripey quilt

I finally got the borders on this quilt top. It took a while to get up the courage to try mitered corners. They ended up going on quite easily once I got to it though. I think because I could just sew on the lines in the fabric.  I love how that red fabric frames all the rest of the blocks. Now I have to find a nice backing fabric for this and then I think I will have it quilted by a professional.

 

New Window Treatment

In the latest issue (October 2011) of American Patchwork and Quilting, there was an article about Monica Solorio-Snow’s studio and how she decorated it. You can go to thehappyzombie.com to find her blog and see her studio. She used lots of 30’s fabrics and it is very bright and cheerful.

I loved many of the little decorative things she has done, but what caught my eye the most was a little shelf she had put above the window.  I showed it to Raymond and we went right out looking for a shelf and brackets that would fit my window. We also got a wooden curtain rod which fits nicely through one of the curlicues in the bracket and I hung the valance that use to be in the kitchen on it. I plan on getting maybe a white lace valance one of these days, but in the mean time this is quite nice.

Monica had a little string of small quilted pennant triangles pinned to the edge of her shelf. That gave me an idea too. I am going to put some little eye-screws along the edge, run a cord through them and hang all my atc cards from it. I have a pack of tiny clothes pins to use to clip the cards to the cord. I think it will look great.  Here is a closer view. I will have to hunt around for more things to put on the shelf, too.

 

Ten Minute Runner

Last meeting at Crazy Quilter’s guild we had a demo on a ten minute table runner. I liked that idea a lot and the next day, I made one just to see how quick it was. I confess that I spent a bit more than ten minutes, but not much. It really was fast and easy. And it looks pretty cute.

That’s all for now.  Happy quilting, or whatever brings you joy.

Leave a Reply

