What’s Been Happening in July

I made this quilt for Ronald McDonald House which is the Chattanooga Quilters charity of choice. Since it was preprinted, All I had to do was sandwich and quilt it. I used my puzzle piece quilt pattern. Easy peasy!

Any kid will like all the dogies. I have enough of the same fabric to make two more quilts this size, so one will go to Crazy Quilters Project Linus and one for the Choo Choo Quilters cuddle quilt program.

This shows the back. I have enough of that fabric for the other two too!

This picture is the beginning of something new. I am going to attempt a bargello quilt. I found the pattern in the latest American Patchwork and Quilting. It calls for 116 different fabrics, so I went through my stash and cut strips from every one I had that was long enough (2″ x width of fabric”) and find I have just enough. I don’t know if I like all of them together though.

My next step is to sort them by colors and then by value to see how well the go together. I know I would like a few more in the yellows and violets. This quilt will look quite differently from the one in the magazine, but it seems a natural for Raynbeaugirl to make a rainbow quilt.  I will scan the magazine quilt and post it soon.

I made a few new things for the kitchen: new cushion covers and a couple of new place mats to match. Here are some pictures of them. The sun is kind of bright in the pics so the colors may be a little off, but you can get the idea. The kitchen walls are more of a tomato red than the purplish red they look in the first couple of photos. And the dark fabric on the blocks is a brown, not purple.

This is a single block I made into a mat to decorate the corner of the booth. All these kitchen projects are made with disappearing nine patch blocks.

The last two pictures are closer to the real color. I stipple quilted in a flying geese block above and below the pieced ones. These place-mats were fun to plan and make.

The next blocks are for a cuddle quilt. We had a demonstration at the last Choo Choo Quilters meeting on making this and two other quick and fun blocks, and so far I have made two of the three. I will post pictures of the second kind of block in the next post as they are still in my camera.  These haven’t been squared-up yet, but are even cuter once that is done.

That’s all for now. Time to go stitch something!

One thought on “What’s Been Happening in July

  1. The top quilt is beyond cute! Love the colors.. enough to cheer any kid (or adult) up. Maybe I will get to sit on those cushions soom while eating some RB Special Wangs! Hint! Hint!

Leave a Reply

