The catch up post

I have neglected posting for a while now with no good excuse. I just haven’t been in the blogging mood, I guess. Anyway, here are a few things I have been up to:

SOCKS

I finished another pair of socks. This is pair #7 and is from some lovely bright yarn that my friend Sharon gave me for my birthday.

The weather is a bit too warm for any of my socks now, but I can’t wait for fall so I can wear them. This self’ striping yarn is so interesting. Thanks again Sharon!

JOURNAL COVER

I made a journal cover some time ago just to keep track of the quilting and crafty things I do.  I try to write in it at the end of the day and mostly just make bullet points and give a brief description of what I did that day, although I did throw in some diagrams of ideas and fabric swatches here and there.  After about a year and a half, I have finally filled up that book and decided to make a new cover for the next book.  I am pretty sure I showed you the first book, so I won’ t go find that picture now. Here is the new one:

I don’t remember if I got this fabric from Sharon or at one of the guild ‘yard sales.’ It was actually a panel to make a quilting tote bag and this part was suppose to be the lining. I thought it would look great as a journal cover. On the inside I used  a section of what was suppose to be one of the handles for the tote.  I even sewed in a white ribbon to use as a place marker.  I may be able to use the other handle and outside parts for the next journal cover when this one is full.

Oh, and once I got it done and started writing in it, I realized the front was just too plain and dug out a pretty piece of lace and stitched it down the front. I will take a picture of that maybe tomorrow and show you how much it spiffs up the front.

REMEMBER ME

I have managed to keep up with the block of the month that Sharon and I started in December. Here are the blocks so far:

The first six are done. The mother and child are ready to stitch. We only have two more blocks then it will be time to finish. It has been fun. I don’t know if I mentioned before, but I am using fabrics that my friend Willa Fuller gave me a few years ago when I still lived in Florida. It was an assortment of reproduction Dutch fabrics actually from the Netherlands! I have been waiting for a really good project to use them on, and this is it. Thanks Willa!

This is suppose to be a baby quilt, but I think it will make a fine wall hanging.


One thought on “The catch up post

Leave a Reply

