Another UFO Almost Done!

According to the date on the block-by-block photos, I started this quilt in October of 2003. Counting the two crazy patch/redwork quilts that I made for my grandsons in 1999, this is the third quilt that I ever started. And it is still not finished. It is from a block-of-the-month that was offered by Hancock Fabrics in Florida. I went along with my neighbor Therese just to keep her company, and she talked me into doing the blocks with her.  So every month we drove up to Merritt Island and got a quick lesson on the block and came home and made it. After a couple of months, I got a bit courageous and started doing blocks for the Chaos Harmony quilt that I had downloaded from the internet (Planet Patchwork.com), so for a while, I was piecing blocks like crazy with no real understanding or knowledge of quilting basics.

I got the blocks finished pretty much on schedule, but then got stumped on how to put it all together and wondering if it would be worth the trouble to try. The blocks got put away in a drawer and mostly forgotten for the next several years. I would take them out now and again and look at the sorry workwomanship and put them away. Well, last week I got the blocks out and put them on the design wall and moved them around a bit and started cutting sashing and sewing them together. I was very pleased to find out that I had enough fabric left from the blocks to finish the top. Here is is so far:

Here is one block close up – It shows the actual colors a bit better. I think my spiffy digital camera is running out of steam. I have been noticing the pictures getting fuzzier and fuzzier.  Well, I have had it for about 5 years, and I have given it quite a workout.

The quilt  is probably big enough for a twin bed or a lap quilt to watch TV while cuddling under. I didn’t know how complex some of the blocks were when I was putting them together, and looking back now it is kind of amazing that I managed to get them even close to square. The contrast between the fabrics shows up a bit more in person, but the prints tend to blend into each other — mostly where they shouldn’t. Still, I like this quilt and will be very happy when I get it quilted. Happily, there is enough fabric for the binding and backing too, so all I need now is batting. Another one almost marked of the list.

2 thoughts on “Another UFO Almost Done!

Leave a Reply

