Knitting Socks

Here is a picture of sock #1 all finished:

I really like h0w nicely the stripes worked out. I have the second sock cuff almost done and managed to get the stripes lined up almost the same.

I finished this one about a week ago, but didn’t get around to taking a picture till today. It is quite challenging, by the way, to take a picture of a sock on your own foot.

That sock is very warm too. The yarn is bamboo, wool and nylon.

I am so glad I took this class and am sure I will be knitting more socks. Once you get over the weirdness of juggling all the double pointed needles, it is not so bad. In fact, it’s kind of fun – a nice little lesson on staying in the moment. Whenever I let my mind wander a bit, I drop a stitch or spilt the yarn and have to back and fix it.

When I got stuck trying to remember how to pick up stitches after making the heal flap, I searched up and found several very helpful videos on youtube that helped me continue.  Then when I got to the part of finishing off the toe, I went to youtube again rather than wait to learn it in the next class.

My last class is in about two weeks. I am hoping I can have the second sock finished before then. Maybe I will wear them to the class! These funky stripes will look great in my crocks!

One thought on “Knitting Socks

Leave a Reply

