Fabric to dye for

Last Saturday I attended a dye workshop put on by a couple of members of my Choo Choo Guild. It was at Karen Sperry’s house and she and Vista Mahan gave us little talks about how they dye fabric, then let the group of 10 or 11 of us loose in Karen’s studio. I took seven yards of white fabric torn into 1/2 yard sections and dyed them all.

Here is Vista and Karen standing behind my fabrics, still in their baggies of dye solution:

Here is my friend Sharon at her table with her baggies of dyeing fabric:

We brought our baggies of fabric home to rinse and rinse and rinse and rinse and wash and dry. I attempted to dye my fabric in gradations so that the color goes from darkest to lightest from one end to the other. My results were mostly successful, and I love every piece. Here are some of my pieces draped over my ironing board the next day:

Here are the warm colors:

Here they are all ironed and folded up.

I can’t wait to come up with a project to use these fabrics in. And I can’t wait for the next dye workshop!

One thought on “Fabric to dye for

  1. Clarice says:

    The colors are beautiful. Sounds like a great group of ladies, that really accomplish a lot…….I am impressed.

Leave a Reply

