Happy Birthday to Me

OK, so my birthday isn’t until next month. But when Mr. Smith asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I had my list ready.  At the top of the list was a serger. I have never had one, but I have done some research and decided that I could get a lot of use out of one. I like making my own clothes, but don’t like the ‘home-made’ look I always end up with. a serger creates beautiful finished seams and saves a lot of time too.  So I decided on the one I wanted, and Raymond sent away for it. Here it is:

2009-10-12 serger

We got a third table and did a little rearranging to make a place for it. Here is a closer view:

2009-10-12 serger 2I watched the video that came with it, and got a book, Serging With Confidence by Nancy Zeeman and have started reading through it. On the Sewing With Nancy tv shows, she uses sergers quite often for practical and decorative sewing. I am very excited about having this new little gadget to play with.

Leave a Reply

