Surprise Unveiled – Can I have another piece of chocolate cake?

Yesterday, the quilty thing that I cryptically mentioned a few posts back arrived at its destination. I made a little birthday cake wall hanging and sent it to my daughter, Jenny’s house. Both of the boys are having birthdays in the next couple weeks, so it seemed like a good time for it. In the future, they can hang it whenever anyone has a birthday there. That would be at least four times a year and maybe more if they have visiting birthday people. Here is a picture of it at its new home:

IMG00048

Here is another picture that shows a little more detail. I drafted this in Electric Quilt 5. It only took a couple days to put together (I used a fusible applique method rather than needle turn) and another day to quilt and it was done.  The blue squares and the candle are from a fairy frost fabric that has a little sparkle to it. Maybe I should have tried for a little more contrast in the different chocolates -except for that I think it came out fine.

2009-06-27 chocolate cake

One thought on “Surprise Unveiled – Can I have another piece of chocolate cake?

Leave a Reply

