What I Am Reading

I have gotten into a routine lately where I read a little before bed. While I drink a cup of tea and sometimes have a piece of chocolate, I journal a bit and then read a bit. First, I write in my gratitude journal. My intention is to write five things from the day that I am grateful for. Some days it is a challenge to pick just five. I am using a wonderful little Journal book that my friend Irene Watson gave me.

Then I read a few pages or sections in these books:

A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle http://www.amazon.com/New-Earth-Awakening-Lifes-Purpose/dp/0525948023 I am on my second read trying to keep up with Oprah’s online weekly classes. http://www.oprah.com/obc_classic/webcast/ane_marketing.html It is a wonderful book and really is life-changing. The classes are great too.

Awakening the Buddha Within by Lama Surya Das  http://www.amazon.com/Awakening-Buddha-Within-Tibetan-Western/dp/0767901576 I don’t remember exactly when I got this book or even why I picked it out. I think it was through one of those book of the month clubs where you get so many books for a dollar each or something like that to start and then you pay a lot for the other books and shipping and handling that you want to quit as soon as your agreement is over. Then you (or at least I do) get enticed by the ‘almost free” books to join again. Anyway, I have had this one for a few years, and recently it spoke to me that it was ready for me or I was ready for it, so I read a section every night after A New Earth. I am really enjoying it an learning about Buddhism and meditation. I particularly like how much my nightly reads of this book seem to compliment what I am reading in A New Earth. Sometimes I forget which book is which.

Altars by Deinse Linn http://www.amazon.com/Altars-Bringing-Sacred-Shrines-Everyday/dp/0345434463/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1207848723&sr=1-1 This book was mentioned in one of the blogs I have been reading, and I remembered that I have this book. I probably got it the same way as Awakening the Buddha.. So I dug Altars out of the piles of books that now are in residence in our dining room awaiting bookcases, and am perusing it. It is giving me ideas for creating an altar in my bedroom and perhaps other places in the house.

The Eternity Artifact by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. http://www.amazon.com/Eternity-Artifact-L-E-Modesitt/dp/0765353458/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1207849028&sr=1-1 I just got this yesterday from the library and started it last night. We finally got our driver’s licenses switched over from Florida to Tennessee. The first thing we did after that was get library cards, then Raymond got a fishing license and spent the rest of the day at the lake ( http://www.tva.gov/sites/chickamauga.htm ). He’s out fishing again today – probably till dark – so I did my basic housework and am reading a little more of this book. I have not read this author before, but he has a ton of other books listed inside the title page. What a great discovery! This is my favorite kind of science fiction story. And it is a big. fat book too. It will take a long time to finish. It kinda jumped into my hand at the library, so I had to bring it home.

Go here to read the inside flap: http://www.amazon.com/gp/reader/0765353458/ref=sib_dp_pt#reader-link 

Enough typing. I’m gonna go read some more.

One thought on “What I Am Reading

Leave a Reply

