Sudoku

While reading mail on the computer I got an idea for a quilt. There are a lot of sudoku quilts out there which were designed according to the layout of numbers in the sudoku game. 

Here is information on the basic game from wikipedia:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudoku. “Sudoku (数独 sūdoku?) is a logic-based number placement puzzle. The objective is to fill a 9×9 grid so that each column, each row, and each of the nine 3×3 boxes (also called blocks or regions) contains the digits from 1 to 9, only one time each (that is, exclusively).”

So, I have seen quilts where they have designated a color or particular fabric to each number and then placed the fabrics according to the sudoku rules. I figured eventually I would make one. They look pretty cool. Today’s idea went a little further, although I am sure I am not the first to think of it. I wondered what it would look like if you assigned a particular kind of block to each number. Then I wondered if it might be possible for the blocks to have the same number of patches as it’s assigned number. For example, the one would have one patch, the four would be a four patch, etc. I opened my Electric Quilt 5 and fiddled around with it for a while and made a sample quilt. Here it is:

 sudoku.jpg

It was a fun exercise.

2 thoughts on “Sudoku

Leave a Reply

