Tree of Life II

2008-03-20-trunk.jpg Since I have had this cute design wall, I have been putting up different projects every few days and leaving them there to look at. For the last few days, this has been on my wall. It is the center block for my second tree of life quilt. I appliqued the tree a while before we moved and am still deciding on how i want to do the leaves. There will also be an elaborate vine and flower border that will fill up most of the part of the quilt that hangs down the side and bottom of the bed. I have drafted some Jacobean type flowers for the vine. This will be a larger and more detailed version of Tree of Life I which is hanging in my sister’s living room.

2007-08-illinois-trip-013.jpg Here is the first one; it is about 60″ square. The new one will be big enough to fit on our bed. I am going to put a pair of lovebirds in the branches and maybe some flowers and fruits. I like the idea of it being similar to the tree described in the book of Revelations (22:2)in the new testament of the Bible (“. . . was there the tree of life which bore twelve kinds of fruits, and yeilded her fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.”) rather than the tree of life that was mentioned in Genesis (3:22-23) in the old testament (“. . . and now, lest he put forth his hand and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live forever; Therefore the Lord God sent him forth from the garden of Eden . . .”), thus the fruit.

One thought on “Tree of Life II

Leave a Reply

