Weed Whacker, Affair of the Heart, Socks, and Cuddle Quilt Updates

Standard

Well, it has been a while since my last post. I have gotten a few things finished and a few further along, but haven’t gotten around to letting you know. I will try to get everything in one post, but it may be long.

Weed Whacker

Here is the weed whacker quilt assembled with its border:

I have the backing and batting folded up with the top and they are just awaiting quilting. I hope to have this ready by the first Wednesday in November so that I can turn it in as my second quilt for Project Linus. That will complete the Crazy Quilter’s president’s challenge for this year.

Affair of the Heart

I don’t think I have mentioned this before, so it will seem like a new project. I have had the book, Affair of the Heart by Aie Rossmann since before I left Florida. I saw her and her quilt on Simply Quilts and really loved her designs and bought the book as soon as I found it. Recently, it has been on my mind and I decided to work on it a little at a time. Here is a picture of her quilt from the book:

Isn’t that gorgeous!

Aie’s quilt has 36 -  6″ or 7″ blocks composed of hearts and lotus flowers on a black background with a pretty heart border. The bright colors seem to glow against the black background. Making all 36 blocks  seems a little daunting to me. I studied the blocks and sorted them according to how many pieces in each block, then  I decided to make some of the blocks double size and chose the ones with the higher piece count. The larger blocks will be arranged at the corners and center of a nine patch arrangement. The four side sections will be made up of four regular sized blocks each. I think that will look nice for a wall hanging.  I don’t know what to do about a border yet, but there is plenty of time to figure that out.

So far, I have three of the large blocks done. They are about 16″ square. I actually pieced the first one early this spring, and worked on it now and again. Once it was finished and hanging on the design wall, I felt more energized about the next blocks and picked up the pace a bit.  Here are the ones I have so far:

This is block #22 and it has the most pieces at 40.  All of the blocks also have embroidery — gold hearts and curly cues that really make the applique pop. I won’t do the embroidery till after the quilting, but I think I will use gold beads instead of floss.  Here is a picture of this same block from the book showing the embroidery:

Wouldn’t that look great with beadwork?

Here is the second block I have finished and the original block from the book:

It is block 3 in the book and has 39 pieces.

I just finished the third block, which is block #27 and has 33 pieces. The embroidery will really enhance the applique. Here is mine and the one from the book:

Socks:

Here is my fourth pair of socks that I have knit. I am using the same pattern that I learned in the class, and really enjoy making them. I just hope I can bring myself to wear them when the weather gets cooler.

I started another pair using a skein of worsted weight yarn that I happened to have, just to see how they would come out. Because the stitches are bigger and fewer, the first sock worked up really fast. I think I spent a couple hours for three days and had the first sock done. Here is a picture of it:

for this sock, I continued the ribbing on the top of the sock from the cuff to the toe. The yarn is very soft and snuggly and would be great for around the house. I made a big mistake on this one though. I was so excited to have it finished, that I hurried and wove in the ends at the toe and the beginning, then snipped off the extra yarn so I could try the sock on. It fits perfectly, but when I took it off I found a big hole in the cuff:

Isn’t that terrible! I realized that when I snipped the extra yarn I must have also snipped one of the stitches and when I pulled the sock on it started to run. I am hoping I can mend it, but so far have not tried. I started another pair of socks with regular sock yarn while I am deciding what to do with this one. I don’t have pictures of the new pair yet.

Block of the Month:

Here is my latest block for the Crazy Quilter’s block of the month. It is either September or October. It was a little tricky, but I am happy with the result.

This is a cuddle quilt for the Choo Choo Quilters. I brought home the kit from the cuddle quilt workshop in September and got the blocks put together, added the border, quilted and bound the quilt. It was fun. I brought home three other cuddle quilts – two just needed the binding and the fourth needs quilted. I hope to get it done this week.

Ok, that is enough for one post.  I have a couple more things, but will wait and put them in the next post.

 

 

4 responses »

  1. WOW!!!! That WeedWhacker certainly looks different with the border. I really like it! I am still working on my very first sock and I started about 3 years ago. You are encouraging me to get going and finish it and its mate and get started on another pair. Of course, you ARE going to wear those socks this winter. When I get mine finished we will wear them at the same time and be “twinsies”. :-)

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog. In answer to your question, the embroidery on the Affairs of the Heart blocks can be done by hand or machine if you have a machine that has a few fancy stitches. I believe Aie Rossman did her embroidery by hand and that is what I plan to do, but there is no reason you couldn’t do it by machine if you prefer. Happy Day! Linda

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

